Skip to main content

What is the Heart of the South West Joint Committee?

Since August 2015 authorities and organisations in Somerset and Devon have been working together on ways to increase productivity and economic prosperity across the area. This has included discussions with Government about potentially devolving extra funding and decision-making powers to the local level.

The Heart of the South West (HotSW) partnership is made up of 23 organisations: 17 local authorities, Dartmoor and Exmoor National Parks, the HotSW Local Enterprise Partnership and the three Clinical Commissioning Groups.

What is the aim of the Joint Committee?

Its leaders are committed to improving productivity regardless of any devolution of powers or funding, their aim being to bring real benefits to residents in the form of better wages, jobs, stronger business and public services.

The partners have established a HotSW Joint Committee made up of Leaders and lead representatives from each authority. It will oversee the delivery of a Productivity Strategy and be the vehicle for continued discussions with Government across a range of policy areas including devolution.

Meeting dates and agendas

See Somerset County Council - HotSW Committee for meeting dates and agendas for the Joint Committee.

Feedback form

500 character(s) left.
500 character(s) left.
500 character(s) left.