Skip to main content

Many parts of England, including much of Devon, have two tiers of local government:

In some parts of the country, there’s just 1 (unitary) tier of local government providing all the local services
(for example, Torbay Council, Plymouth Council).

County councils

These are responsible for services across the whole of a county, like:

Devon County Council

District, borough and city councils

These cover a smaller area than county councils. They’re usually
responsible for services like:

Mid Devon District Council 

Parish, community and town councils

These operate at a level below district and borough councils and, in some
cases, unitary authorities. They’re elected and can help on a number of
local issues, like:

Crediton Town Council, Cullompton Town Council, Tiverton Town Council

Town and Parish Council contact details

Central Government (Home Office)

Feedback form

500 character(s) left.
500 character(s) left.
500 character(s) left.