Skip to main content

Mid Devon Election of a District Councillor for Crediton (Lawrence) on Thursday 4 May 2023.

I, Jill May, being the Returning Officer at the above election, do hereby give notice that the number of votes recorded for each candidate at the said election is as follows:

Name of Candidate Description (if any) Number of Votes*
 COCHRAN, Guy Liberal Democrats 556 (Elected)
 LAYBOURN, Laurie Andrew [Laurie] Labour and Cooperative Party  307 
 LETCH, Frank Liberal Democrats  611 (Elected)
 SCOUGALL-KNIGHT, Samuel Andrew [Sam] Conservative Party Candidate  254 

* If elected the word 'Elected' appears against the number of votes.


The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows: Number of ballot papers
A - want of an official mark  6
B - voting for more Candidates than voter was entitled to
C - writing or mark by which voter could be identified
D - being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty 14 
E - rejected in part
Total 21 

Vacant Seats: 2

Electorate: 3,088

Ballot Papers Issued: 1,058

Turnout: 34.3%

And I do hereby declare that FRANK LETCH and GUY COCHRAN are duly elected.

Dated: 5 May 2023
Jill May, Returning Officer

Feedback form

500 character(s) left.
500 character(s) left.
500 character(s) left.